Issue details

Real Time Passenger Information - KEY/15MAY17/02

The Cabinet Member:


1.Authorised the award of a Call Off Contract to VIX Technology UK Limited for £348,846 from 3 April 2018 for a period of 5 years with the option to extend for a further 3 years for the bus real time passenger information system service and maintenance. 


2.    Authorised the Council to enter into a  Local Authorities Partnering Agreement with Cambridgeshire County Council, Bedford Borough Council, Central Bedfordshire Council, Luton Borough Council and Northamptonshire County Council from 3 April 2018 for a period of 5 years with the option to extend for a further 3 years  


3.    Authorised the entering into of contracts with Stagecoach Group PLC and such other bus operators who wish to join the scheme, in relation to the real time passenger information system involving the provision, installation and maintenance of equipment on vehicles and/or the provision of data to allow the system to function, for a period of 5 years, with the option to extend for up to a further 3 years.


Authorised the Director of Governance or delegated officers to enter into any other legal documentation on behalf of the Council in relation to this matter.

Decision type: Key

Reason Key: Significantly affecting two or more electoral wards;

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Wards affected: (All Wards);

Notice of proposed decision first published: 13/04/2017

Decision due: Not before 27th Mar 2018 by Cabinet Member for Growth, Planning, Housing and Economic Development

Lead member: Councillor Peter Hiller

Lead director: Executive Director Place and Economy

Department: Place and Economy

Contact: Peter Tebb, Network and Traffic Manager Tel: 01733 453519, Email: Tel: 01733 453519.

Consultation process

Relevant internal and external stakeholders.


Consultation has taken place with bus operators in the city and will continue to do so for the duration of the tender process

Relevant Scrutiny Committee: Growth, Environment and Resources Scrutiny Committee